Tim Easton tests the Slope Shoulder Homestead guitar in our Studio.

On Monday, October 29, the American singer/guitarist Tim Easton visited us to try out a few models. Eventually, he was very charmed by the “Slope Shoulder”. That is also the model he ordered.

His reaction:

“I visited their vault of beautifully built guitars today.
Such resonance and attention to detail.
These guitars have the kind of sustain that you dream of.
These guitars have songs inside them.”

TE, October 29, 2018


Below he plays “Broken Hearted Man” on a Homestead Slope Shoulder from his album, “Paco & the Melodic Polaroids




To the website of Tim Easton

Easton was raised in Akron, Ohio, forming the band Kosher Spears while at college. He travelled abroad for a time, busking in London, Paris, Spain, Italy, Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia, and Ireland.

On his return to the US in the mid-1990s, Easton joined the Haynes Boys with Freddie Free (guitar), Jovan Karcic (drums), and Aaron Rice (bass).

In 1996, they released their only album Haynes Boys (often referred to as Guardian Angel because of the cover illustration).

On June 23, 2015, Re-Vinyl Records reissued the album on vinyl with the originally intended cover art and updated liner notes.

The band kicked off a series of shows on June 25, 2015, in Columbus, Ohio, culminating with a June 28 show at the ComFest community festival in Columbus.

When the members of the Haynes Boys split to pursue individual projects, Easton recorded his 1998 debut album Special 20 on Heathen Records, a label launched by Easton and his manager Blake Squires.

He subsequently relocated to California and signed a deal with EMI Publishing and a record deal with New West Records. In 2001, he released The Truth About Us on which he was supported by Ken Coomer, John Sirratt, and Jay Bennett, all of Wilco.

Released in 2003, Break Your Mother’s Heart featured Mike Campbell (guitar), Jim Keltner (drums), Jai Winding (piano), Greg Leisz (dobro), and Jilann O’Neill (backing vocals).

Ammunition was released in 2006. Lucinda Williams and Tift Merritt contributed harmony vocals, and Gary Louris (the Jayhawks) produced three tracks.

2009 saw the release of Porcupine which featured Sam Brown (drums), Matt Surgeson (bass), and Kenny Vaughan (guitar).

Since 1966 was a primarily solo acoustic album released in 2011 and featuring 11 previously unreleased songs.

Also released in 2011, Beat the Band included Aaron Lee Tasjan (guitar and piano), Mark Stepro (drums), and Alex Livingstone (bass).

In 2013, Easton released Not Cool which he began recording after he moved back to Nashville and was inspired by a show at Robert’s Western World. He described the album as “kind of a 50′s, Sun Studio thing, kind of a rock and roll thing.”

For American Fork, released in 2016, Easton went into the studio with multi-instrumentalist and producer Patrick Damphier, who has worked with Jessica Lea Mayfield and The Mynabirds. The record was almost entirely recorded live with Jon Radford (drums), Michael Rinne (bass), Robbie Crowell (keyboards and horns), Russ Pahl (pedal steel), and Larissa Maestro (cello). Maestro, Megan Palmer, Ariel Bui, and Emma Berkey provided vocal harmonies.

In 2007, Easton joined Leeroy Stagger and Evan Phillips, performing as Easton, Stagger, Phillips. Easton and Stagger initially performed in 2008 as support acts for Phillips’ band The Whipsaws.

The group released One For The Ditch, on Rebeltone Records, in 2008. Their second album Resolution Road was released in 2014.

Easton was nominated for the 9th Annual Independent Music Awards Vox Pop award for ‘Best Americana Song’ with “Burgundy Red”.

His album Porcupine won the 9th Annual Independent Music Awards Vox Pop vote for Best Album Packaging.

Cold and Bitter Tears: The Songs of Ted Hawkins, released in late 2015 on Austin-based Eight 30 Records, features Easton’s recording of Hawkins’ song “One Hundred Miles.”